Skip to content

Advisory committee

Our advisory committee governs our work, and is drawn from the community members we serve and that share our values.

Learn more about our governance at our governance and transparency pages. You can contact the advisory committee by emailing [email protected].

  • Headshot of Leila Sterman

    Chair (2022—ongoing)

    Leila Sterman (she/her)

    Leila has been a scholarly communication librarian since 2013 interested in how we trust systems in academia and how Open can improve those systems. As a scholarly communication librarian at MSU, she’s had a significant impact on the campus’s scholarly discourse. She runs a DSpace repository, resolves publishing and copyright issues, runs an OA author fund, publishes three OA journals, and has been a successful advocate for change (e.g passing an open access statement). She teaches oral communication skills to STEM doctoral students through a mix of podcasting and improv, while researching scholarly publishing, copyright, oral communication, and open access. Leila is a highly active community member and is a member of the Open Repositories Steering Committee.

    Leila is an Associate Professor & Scholarly Communication Librarian at Montana State University.

  • Headshot of Juan Pablo Alperin

    Member (2022—ongoing)

    Juan Pablo Alperin (he/him)

    Juan is a multi-disciplinary scholar who uses a combination of computational techniques and traditional qualitative methods to investigate ways of raising the scientific quality, global impact, and public use of scholarly work. He is best known as a leading voice in the open access (OA) and open science (OS) communities who can intermediate between the Latin American experiences and the discussions about OA and OS worldwide.

    Juan is an Associate Professor in the Publishing Program, the co-Scientific Director of the Public Knowledge Project, and the co-Director of the Scholarly Communications Lab.

  • Headshot of Nick Shockey

    Member (2022—ongoing)

    Nick Shockey (he/him)

    Nick Shockey is the Director of Programs & Engagement at SPARC, where he has worked since 2009. Nick works across SPARC to identify areas to better support member libraries, co-leads SPARC’s negotiations and privacy communities of practice, manages SPARC’s digital platforms, and leads SPARC’s student and next generation-focused initiatives, including organizing OpenCon and OpenCon’s collaborations with the United Nations Library.

    Nick is the Director of Programs & Engagement at SPARC and founding Director of the Right to Research Coalition.